What is NEBOSH?


The NEBOSH or National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health is a globally recognized examining board that was formed during the 1970’s, specifically 1979 based on the UK (United Kingdom). Not only are they an examining board, they are also regarded as an awarding body known for compassion and sympathy. They offer vocational qualifications made to meet many needs of both private and public departments. Sensible needs like health, risk control, and safety are only some of the many needs answered by the NEBOSH. They also set many methods of assessment, like course works and exams, and improves syllabuses for qualification.

There are over 30,000 candidates every year coming to NEBOSH in order to get qualified. More than 400 NEBOSH accredited course providers all around the globe, about 82 countries or so, offer them courses. This is because the qualifications in the NEBOSH are truly regarded as one of the best and is very much trusted by many important professional membership bodies like IOSH (Institution of Occupational Safety and Health), IEMA (Institute if Environmental Management and Assessment), and even the IRSM (International Institute of Risk and Safety Management).

Did you know why the NEBOSH is very much respected by these well-known institutes? It is because NEBOSH examinations are made and set by qualified staffs along with outside examiners. Majority of those are Chartered Safety and Health Practitioners doing their jobs inside public sectors, enforcements, and industries.

NEBOSH clearly very high standards which comes off as very evident to a Qualification and Technical Council representatives taken from a country’s institution. The mere fact that NEBOSH maintains IIP (Investors in People) status and that they are an ISO 9001:2008 registered organization just proves how legitimate and credible they are.

NEBOSH has four international qualifications: Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety, Certificate in Construction Health and Safety, Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety, and Technical Certificate in Oil and Gas Operational Safety.

NEBOSH, because of its proven and tested quality had earned many achievements. They became the first ever health and safety awarding body to be given recognition from the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations during October of year 2000. And also, they gained Approved Awarding Body status from SQA (Scottish Qualification Authority).

With a mission and vision statement that focuses on the more practical and well-developed concepts of health, safety, and the environment, they truly do work towards the betterment of our industrialized world today. They not only meet standards, they go way beyond them. The fact that there are over 180,000 satisfied individuals with a NEBOSH qualification implies exactly how important it is to get qualified by something as prominent and sufficient as NEBOSH.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

History and Info on NEBOSH


We all know very well how delicate and necessary health and safety is. We all know how important it is to be secured of the fact that everything is not corrupted or weak or unstable. For those reasons, NEBOSH (National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health) was brought to life in 1979 founded in the United Kingdom.

NEBOSH functions, not as a course provider, but as an examination board as well as an awarding body. It is regarded by the law as a ‘charity’. They fix syllabuses and find various methods of ‘examining’ those who are looking for vocational qualifications. They create examinations and accredit different organizations to provide the courses. As an awarding body, they are responsible for diplomas and certificates in safety, the environment, and health.

Here is a look on the history of NEBOSH, starting from 1980 (a year after NEBOSH was founded) up to our present day.

-  June 1980

The first ever NEBOSH Associate and Member level exams happened. The exams covered Behavioural Science, Law, Occupational Health and Hygiene, General Science, and Techniques of Safety Management.

-  October 1981

NEBOSH qualifications recognition as well as their board’s membership began to grow. They have included people from IOSH (Institution of Occupational Safety and Health) UK government departments, teaching establishments, and the RoSPA (Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents).

-  June 1982

84 people registered for higher level certificate and 140 for ordinary level certificate.

-  1986

The number of annual examination sessions increased from two to three.

-  February 1987

A new qualification structure, which includes a diploma and a certificate, was introduced.

-  1988

The diploma level qualification featured for a three-hour exam and a complete case study. Those who scored over 75% attained distinction.

-  1990

NEBOSH separated itself from IOSH

-  March 1992

With Companies House, NEBOSH incorporated as a limited company.

-  April 1992

NEBOSH was registered as a charity through the Charity Commission.

-  July 1992

Martin Shuttleworth became the first Chief Executive.

-  December 1992

This was when the Specialist Environmental Diploma was launched. The Construction Certificate followed afterwards.

-  June 1997

A credit mark, showing a fairly high score, was introduced right below a distinction.

-  June 1998

They introduced a two-part diploma.

-  1999

NEBOSH moved to new premises, to Meridian Business Park in Leicester.

-  2000

NEBOSH was accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority of England, introducing post nominals for those who have specific qualification types.

-  March 2001

Holders of higher level awards were introduced to designatory letters.

-  September 2001

They celebrated since there were exactly 50,000 NEBOSH exams candidate.

-  March 2005

The NEBOSH Fire Certificate and NEBOSH Interntional General Certificate were launched.

-  2006

The 100,000th General Certificate was awarded. They also moved to new offices and opened up a new building.

-  September 2008

The Specialist Environmental Diploma was renamed the Diploma in Environment Management. Those who had that diploma were allowed to become members of the IEMA (Institute of Environmental Management and Assessment)

-  2009

The International Diploma and Environmental Certificate were introduced.

-  2010

The Health and Well-being Certificate, Award in Health and Safety at Work, International Technical Certificate in Oil and Gas Operational Safety, and the International Construction Certificate were launched.

This well-founded history of NEBOSH clearly proves how long and how efficient NEBOSH has been and has become throughout the years. Because of this, the United Kingdom has been a very safe and healthy place. Until now, they are still continuing to improve the safety, health, and environment of nationals, and even people across the globe, with the help of NEBOSH.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment